Berjejak

A Letter

This letter is not originally written by me. It is an advice written by a Lady, a friend of God, who cares for souls of every young men and women.

It goes like this.

“I am a conscientious Christian. I believe the seventh day of the week to be the Sabbath of the Bible. Our faith and principles are such that they lead in opposite directions.

We cannot be happy together, for if I follow on to gain a more perfect knowledge of the will of God, I shall become more and more unlike the world.

If you continue to see no loveliness in Christ, no attractions in the truth, you will love the world, which I cannot love, while I shall love the things of God, which you cannot love.

You will not be happy; you will be jealous on account of the affections which I give to God; and I shall be alone in my religious belief.”

I was shocked to read such words. I remember how he said he was happy yet envy of me for enjoying weekend with Bible study peers. He wanted to have such group like me too, but he also wanted me to just accompanied him by weekend. He thought maybe things could be better if we could grow together. But things happened in different way.

“For My thoughts are not your thoughts, nor are your ways My ways,” says the Lord.

Separated by the ocean, each of us went home. Home, a place where your foolishness as teenagers stays, where your old friends from your old life resides, where all family matters rises. This distance tested us. No, it is not the long-distance relationship issue like whether you are faithful to your partner or not. It is more than that. It is a test which reveals who already left the old clothes and who still wants to wear it.

“You guys run at a different pace.” a friend said. “Don’t let him slow you down.”

There we were.

We realize that we may walk in the same path but in different pace. One has to give up her hope, yet the other has to fill his emptiness.

“He [Satan] is busily engaged in influencing those who are wholly unsuited to each other to unite their interests. He exults in this work, for by it he can produce more misery and hopeless woe to the human family than by exercising his skill in any other direction.”

He quoted that one day, a letter written by the Lady too. Too sad to admit that the words happen just in front of us.

Well actually, he is a good man. Really. I learned so many things from and with him, all these reformed things I did maybe never happen if I ain’t got any support, encouragement, and example from him. He was a letter God wrote to me.

As for me, I am okay. God always knows how to treat me and He does it really well this time too. Now I learn to lean on Him day by day.

Do not fear, for you will not be ashamed;
Neither be disgraced, for you will not be put to shame;
For you will forget the shame of your youth, and will not remember the reproach of your widowhood anymore.

For your Maker is your husband,
The Lord of hosts is His name;
And your Redeemer is the Holy One of Israel; He is called the God of the whole earth.

I continued to read the letter. Little much describing my hope to happen to him soon. It said this way.

“When your views shall change, when your heart shall respond to the claims of God, and you shall learn to love my Saviour, then our relationship may be renewed.”

Tinggalkan Balasan

